Controller by Misery Signals

In August 2007, Misery Signals took a break from touring in order to write their third full length, Controller. The record came together quickly, with each member dedicating time to their own individual elements of writing before coming together as a band to continue crafting the album.  In February 2008, Misery Signals entered Black Cat Studios with producer Devin Townsend (Darkest Hour, Lamb Of God, Strapping Young Lad) to begin recording Controller.

Having Devin Townsend at the helm for Controller helped to create a new attitude toward the recording process for Misery Signals. Guitarist Stu Ross says “Devin definitely pushed us as a band a lot more with this record, and spent time with us individually. He spent so much time making sure everything was perfect.”.  Devin’s attention to detail resonates within the intricate melodies and aggressive rhythms of the album. The lyrical content of the album deals with social and political collapse and the potential destruction of civilization, and is complimented well by majestically torrid guitar riffs and agile drumming.

Controller was released to rave reviews on July 22nd, 2008. Outburn Magazine gave the album a 10/10, calling it “the best work from a band who has not yet created a bad album.”, while Revolver Magazine noted Misery Signals as “Metalcore Heroes”, and Metal Edge called Controller “Crossover music at its finest.”. Further accolades came from Exclaim!, who stated that “Controller sees the culmination of Of Malice and the Magnum Heart’s primal viciousness and Mirrors’ atmospheric guitar tones converging into a well-organized whole.”


# Title Listen Watch Create
1 Nothing
10 Homecoming
2 Weight Of The World
3 Labyrnthian
4 Parallels
5 Coma
6 A Certain Death Download MP3
7 Set In Motion
8 Ebb And Flow
9 Reset